June 20, 2011

Monday Night LIVE In the Zone - "Impressionism"

Very impressive,  Impressionism that is.
Renoir
Degas
The 1800's to early 1900's were a time of incredible discovery and experimentation in the art world.  The 'Impressionists' were mainly in France, centred around Paris, and together ushered Art through  the Victorian age, the Industrial Revolution and their Neoclassical and Romantic eras.

Delacroix        Turner         Corot             Courbet
         Monet        Manet                Renoir         Pissarro
              Cassatt  Morisot         Degas  Van Gogh 
     Gauguin                        Cezanne                           Seurat
Monet

Are you familiar with all of these names? Who is your favourite?
I couldn't pick a favourite; it would be impossible. I cannot possibly compare Degas natural beauty of a ballet dancer preparing to perform to the fantastical swirls and colours of Van Gogh's Starry Night.

What are the key elements to most of the Impressionists' paintings?
Space
Colour
Effect

Do you know where the term Impressionism came from?
Tune into our show tonight and find out.
Seurat

Where: Creative EdVEntures Network (on the web)
When:9 PM Eastern time ( 6 PM Pacific, 7 PM Mountain, 8 PM Central)


See you later!

No comments:

Post a Comment

It's nice to get feedback.

Popular Posts

POWr Instagram Feed

Hand painted Vase 12" - Click to see more...

Hand painted Vase 12" - Click to see more...
Fine lines and beautiful medley of greens, blues and yellows.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...